Where’s Pulp Fiction When You Need It?

So how about this summer movie season?  It’s been a long time since I’ve been so thoroughly bored with what’s being dished out.  Here are some thoughts I’ve had about the sorry state of Hollywood:

1.  Just because we liked something at ten years old doesn’t mean it was actually good.  Have you watched an episode of The A-Team lately?  If you go to the websites I do, they’re littered with news about Voltron and Thundercats movies getting the green light.  Hey, I loved all those cartoons when I was a kid as well.  Do you know why I loved them?  Because I had no taste.  At that age, I thought Rad was an awesome movie.  So people need to stop writing comments about how these movies “screw up the originals”.  If The A-Team movie has a handful of entertaining moments, it’s blasted past the original.

2.  Star Wars may have kicked off the era of blockbusters, but even Star Wars sucks now.  It’s time for the era of something else.  I don’t know what that is.  Even if it’s a revival of the Era of the Big Musical it can’t be any worse than what we’re getting right now.

3.  Can there please be a new director to get excited about?  We really need a Tarantino or Scorcese or Raimi to get excited about again.  Hell, the current crop makes Michael Bay look like an auteur.

4.   What the hell happened to independent movies?  I know there are good ones right now.  Even the worst of times produces gems.  What I’m lamenting is the lack of films to get excited about.  Where’s the new Reservoir Dogs?  In this age of new possibilities, why hasn’t some brilliant creative mind knocked my socks off?

I’m starting to think, with the exception of television, we’re in a rare dead zone when it comes to arts and entertainment.  In the cases of film, comics, plays, and music, there are fine pieces of work being produced but nothing to get me all that pumped up.  Am I missing something?  Am I too out of the loop on the stuff bubbling under the surface? 

I’m looking forward to Toy Story 3 and Inception this summer, but that’s about it.  I wouldn’t even be that interested in Inception if I wasn’t a Christopher Nolan fan.  Maybe I’m just getting older and this is part of that process, but I know I’m far from the only one.

2 thoughts on “Where’s Pulp Fiction When You Need It?

Leave a Reply

